Lomonosov project


Lomonosov Moscow State University started a new scientific-educational project “Lomonosov”. Comparing to the previous satellites “Tatiana” and “Tatiana-2″ this satellite will be bigger. In 2011 we’ll celebrate the 300th anniversary of an outstanding Russian scientist, the founder of our University, who contributed greatly into the scientific development. Therefore his name onboard the satellite is a tribute of memory and respect for this remarkable scientist.

Discussing about the purposes of the future experiments onboard this satellite we came to the conclusion that the studies of the extreme physical processes in the atmosphere, near-Earth space and in the Universe as a whole will never better fit this project. These problems are on the front burner of the up-to-date fundamental space physics and astrophysics. Besides, one of the most outstanding scientific results was obtained by M.V.Lomonosov within the field of the studies of the atmospheric electricity and  atmospheric luminescence – aurora. Currently these problems are still of great importance.

Fig.1. A drawing from the book by M.V.Lomonosov.

Certainly, the experiments onboard the satellite “Mikhailo Lomonosov” will contribute greatly to the development of the human knowledge in the field of physics,  in which M.V. Lomonosov started his studies (lightning character studies, etc.)

Логин

Проект Ломоносов


МГУ приступил к реализации нового научно-образовательного проекта «Ломоносов». Это будет более крупным космическим проектом МГУ по сравнению с предыдущими спутниками «Татьяна» и «Татьяна-2». В 2011 г. будет отмечаться 300-летний юбилей замечательного русского ученого, много сделавшего для развития российской науки и для становления нашего университета. МГУ носит имя М.В.Ломоносова. Поэтому имя М.В.Ломоносова «на борту» спутника – память и дань уважения этому выдающемуся ученому.

Размышляя о целях будущих экспериментов на этом спутнике, мы пришли к выводу, что исследования экстремальных физических явлений в атмосфере Земли, ближнем космосе и во Вселенной как нельзя лучше подойдет именно для этого проекта. Они актуальны для современной фундаментальной космической физики и астрофизики. Кроме этого, одним из замечательных научных результатов М.В.Ломоносова были работы по атмосферному электричеству и атмосферным свечениям – полярным сияниям. Эти проблемы занимают умы ученых и по сей день.

Рис.1. Зарисовка из книги М.В. Ломоносова.

Запуск спутника «Михайло Ломоносов» безусловно внесет значительный вклад в развитие человеческого знания в область физики, исследования которые начал еще М.В. Ломоносов (исследования природы молний и т.д.).

Логин